The High Line in New York City

The High Line was extended from 30th Street to 34th Street.  The new extension was opened to the public on September 21, 2014.  The first time I went there was in July 2011.  To read my post about it click here.

The High Line was a freight train line that was in service from 1934 to 1980.  It was later transformed into a park that opened to the public in 2009.  It’s similar to the Promenade Plantée in Paris, France, which was inaugurated in 1993.

La High Line était prolongé de la 30me rue jusqu’à la 34me rue. La nouvelle extension a été ouvert au public le 21 septembre 2014. La première fois que j’y suis allé était en juillet 2011. Pour lire mon post de cette visite, cliquez ici.

La High Line était une ligne de train de marchandises qui était en service de 1934 à 1980. Ensuite c’était transformé en parc qui était ouvert au public en 2009. Il est similaire à la Promenade Plantée à Paris, en France, qui a été inauguré en 1993

My beautiful picture

Below is a rail yard…..En bas est une gare de triage.

My beautiful picture

Below is a view of the Hudson River.  An ocean liner can be seen to the left.

Voici une vue de la Hudson River.  A gauche on voit un paquebot.

My beautiful picture

It’s a popular spot so it’s crowded.

C’était bondé parce que c’est un endroit populaire.

My beautiful picture

The walk from 34th Street to Gansevoort Street, where it ends, takes about 30 minutes.

Pour marcher de la 34me rue à Gansevoort Street, où il se termine, ça prends environ 30 minutes.

My beautiful picture

…..

My beautiful picture

Along the way there are benches you can sit on if you get tired or you want to relax.

Sur le chemin il y a des bancs où on peut s’asseoir si on a fatigué ou si on veut se reposer.

My beautiful picture

In some spots you can see the railroad tracks.

Il y a des endroits où on peut voir la voie ferrée.

My beautiful picture

The older part of the High Line looks better because the vegetation had more time to grow.

La partie la plus ancienne est plus belle parce que les plantes sont plus développé.

My beautiful picture

This is at the end of the High Line at Gansevoort Street.  There are restrooms nearby.

C’est où la High Line se termine.  Il ya des toilettes tout près.

I got off at Gansevoort Street to have a look.  There are some restaurants and bars where there used to be warehouses.

Je suis sorti à Gansevoort Street pour regarder.  Il y a quelques restaurants et bars où il y avait autrefois des entrepôts.

My beautiful picture

Gansevoort Street

Gallery | This entry was posted in High Line and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The High Line in New York City

  1. Lovely pics and post! The Highline is such a wonderful way to walk NYC!!!

  2. kieravs says:

    I love the highline!! What a wonderful post

What do you think? Que pensez-vous?

