Jones Beach – After Hurricane Sandy – Après l’Ouragan Sandy

Where I work was closed today due to problems from Hurricane Sandy so I rode my bicycle to Jones Beach.  I went by bicycle because the Wantagh Parkway was closed south of Merrick Road and I was hoping that the bicycle path would be open.

Où je travaille était fermé aujourd’hui en raison des problèmes causés par l’Ouragan Sandy donc j’ai roulé mon vélo à Jones Beach.  Je suis allé en vélo car Wantagh Parkway (l’autoroute) était fermé au sud de Merrick Road et j’espérais que le chemin à vélo sérait ouvert.

Riding to Cedar Creek Park

I encountered alot of knocked down trees and fallen branches.

J’ai rencontré beaucoup d’arbres et de branches tombés.

This sign is on the Wantagh Parkway on the northbound side by Hempstead Turnpike.

Ce paneau est sur le Wantagh Parkway sur le côté nord près de Hempstead Turnpike.

Oakfield Avenue in North Bellmore.

The Bicycle Path – Le Chemin A Vélo

This is where the path begins.  Fallen trees and debris were a problem all along the path.

C’est là que le chemin commence.  Les arbres tombés et les débris étaient un problème tout lelong du chemin.

This is near the drawbridge.  The path was full of debris. I went onto the parkway to ride because there was no traffic on it.

Voici près du pont-levis.  Le chemin était plein de débris.  Je suis allé sur l’autoroute parce qu’il n’y avait pas de circulation.

Jones Beach – Field 5

The underpass was flooded so I found an opening in the fence and crossed Ocean Parkway.

Ce passage souterrain était inondé donc quand j’ai trouvé un coin où la barrière était ouverte j’ai traversé Ocean Parkway.

Look at all that debris.  There is even a piece of the boardwalk.

Regardez tout ces débris.  Il y a même un morceau de la promenade en planches.

There is never sand over here like this.

Il n’y a jamais de sable par ici comme ça. 

This is the boardwalk facing towards Field 6.  I did not walk on it because it looks unsafe and unstable.

C’est la promenade tournée vers le Champ 6.  Je n’ai pas marché dessus car il semble dangereux et instable.

Look at all that seaweed.  There should not be seaweed all over everything like that.

Regardez tout cette algue.  Il ne devrait pas avoir tout ces algues partout sur tout comme ça.

The ocean was rough.

L’océan était agité.

The boardwalk facing towards Field 4.

C’est la promenade tournée vers le Champ 4.

It’s going to take a long time to recover.

Ça va prendre longtemps pour recouvrir.

Heading back – Le retour

Heading back I rode on the parkway instead of on the bicycle path.  As I got near the end of the path, about one mile away from Cedar Creek Park, a police car with two police officers pulled me over and told me to get off the parkway and leave the area or be arrested.  They said the parkway was closed because the bridges were undermined.

At the end of the path, at the entrance to Cedar Creek Park, two civil servants just got finished closing the gate.  There was a big sign that read, “Road Closed.”   They helped me get my bicycle over the gate and I climbed over.

Pour faire le retour j’ai roulé sur l’autoroute au lieu que le chemin à vélo.  Lorsque j’étais près de la fin du chemin, à environ un mile (1.6 km) de Cedar Creek Park, deux policiers dans une voiture de police m’ont arrêté et m’ont dit de descendre de l’autoroute et de quitter cette zone ou ils allaient m’arrêter.  Ils m’ont dis que l’autoroute était fermé parce que les ponts avaient affaibli.

À la fin du chemin, à l’entrée de Cedar Creek Park, je suis arrivé lorsque deux fonctionnaires ont fini à fermé la porte de barrière.  Il y avait un grand paneau où c’était écrit, “Rue Fermée.”  Ils m’ont aidé à lever mon vélo au-dessus de la porte et j’ai grimpé sur la barrière.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Hurricane Sandy, Jones Beach, Long Island and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jones Beach – After Hurricane Sandy – Après l’Ouragan Sandy

  1. Nancy Paradiso says:

    Wow, Gerry. Unbelievable! I’m glad you and your family are OK. You’re right though. It will take a while to recover and get all that sand away! Good news – jobs! Somebody’s got to do it, right?!

  2. Thank you for sharing the first hand view. It’s important to see from individual’s eyes as sometimes the media doesn’t cover this. The East Coast will rebuild better and stronger – take care Gerard.

What do you think? Que pensez-vous?

